Kentucky Sweeps Swimmers-of-the-Week, Dressell Sibs Get SEC Nod

As we turn the calendar to 2018, training trips are coming to a close and teams have begun competition. 2018’s first Division I National Swimmers of the Week both hail from Kentucky. Asia Seidt got her hand on the wall first in 4 different events including the 100 free, 100 back, 100 fly, and 200 IM. On the men’s side, Isaac Jones won 3 individual events (200, 500, 1650 freestyles).

Mid Major National Winners are Alicia Caldwell of Rice, and Dean Farris of Harvard. Caldwell had a busy weekend swimming six times in two dual meets. She finished with 2 individual victories and 1 relay victory. Farris lead Harvard to a close win over Arizona State by taking home gold in the 100 and 200 free and leading off the first place 200 medley relay.

Simone de Rijcke (Lindenwood) and Tim Samuelsen (Missouri S&T) are this week’s Division II Swimmers of the Week. Lindenwood picked up wins in almost every freestyle event as she won the 100, 200, 500, 1000 and 1650 frees. de Rijcke now ranks 1st in the 200 free and 2nd in the 500 and 1,000 frees for Division II. Samuelsen logged personal bests in the 200 and 1,000 frees.

This week’s Division III national winners are Natalia Orback-Mandel (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps) and Andrew Trunsky (Williams).

NAIA Swimmers of the Week are Emma Travis of Indiana Wesleyan and Niels Engeln of Lindenwood-Belleville. Indiana River picks up another pair of NJCAA awards as Sophia Diagne and Ruben van Leeuwen are this week’s Swimmers of the Week.

All selections are independent of selections made by each conference.  Winners are selected from results submitted by Midnight EST each Monday.

National Award Highlights

  • Tim Samuelson, Missouri S&T – Last won 10/24/2017
  • Williams’ 2nd Men’s National Award
  • Harvard, Kentucky 1st Men’s National Awards
  • Kentucky, Rice, CMS, Lindenwood, Indiana Wesleyan – all 1st National Women’s Awards
  • Dressels – First Brother/Sister Duo to win conference awards

Women's Conference Awards Highlights

  • Matea Samardzic, SMU – 5th AAC Award
  • Isabella Hindley, Yale – 5th Ivy Award
  • Hania Moro, UMBC – 4th America East (or A-10) Award
  • Mia Wood, Mines – 4th RMAC Award
  • Emily Connors, Xavier – 4th Big East Award
  • Claire Adams, Texas – 4th Big XII Award

Men's Conference Award Highlights

  • Kei Hyogo, Yale – 6th Ivy Award
  • Daniil Antipov, Grand Canyon – 4th WAC Award
  • Joseph Schooling, Texas – 4th Big XII Award
  • Caleb Dressel, Florida – 4th SEC Award
  • Jonathan Gomez, SMU – 4th AAC Award
  • Metin Aydin, Hawaii – 4th MPSF Award


Selections: National | Women's Conference | Men's Conference

CollegeSwimming National Swimmers-of-the-Week

National Women Men
Division I Seidt, Asia
Jones, Isaac P
Mid-Major Caldwell, Alicia D
Farris, Dean
Division II de Rijcke, Simone
Samuelsen, Tim
Missouri S&T
Division III Orbach-Mandel, Natalia E
Trunsky, Andrew
NAIA Travis, Emma
Indiana Wesleyan
Engeln, Niels
NJCAA Diagne, Sophia C
Indian River
van Leeuwen, Ruben
Indian River

Selections: National | Women's Conference | Men's Conference

CollegeSwimming Women's Conference Swimmers-of-the-Week

Conference Swimmer Institition
ACC Rathsack, Lina Pittsburgh
Allegheny Finnegan, Lauren Cabrini
America East Moro, Hania M UMBC
American Samardzic, Matea Southern Methodist
Appalachian Zombai, Annamaria Keiser
Big 12 Adams, Claire E Texas
Big East Conners, Emily A Xavier
Big Ten Sheridan, Calypso P Northwestern
Bluegrass Fair, Taylor B Catawba
Capital Barzanti, Angela Salisbury
CCSA Case, Michelle E Campbell
Centennial Boyle, Blair McDaniel
Colonial Rudy, Gabrielle Drexel
CUNYAC Mejia, Angela Lehman
C-USA Swinney, Kaitlyn B Rice
Empire 8 Hayes, Madeline Hartwick
GLIAC Goebel, Melina Grand Valley
GLVC Caylor, Krystal M Indianapolis
Horizon Treski, Olivia C IUPUI
Independent Van Der Merwe, Sule Indian River
Ivy Hindley, Isabella Yale
Liberal Arts Lee-Brown, Linnea Luther
Liberty Kelly, Kerry Union (NY)
MIAA Eding, Rileigh Albion
Mid-American Eriksson, Lisa Toledo
Middle Atlantic Miller, Molly A Fairleigh Dickinson
Mid-South Graham, Charee F Lindenwood-Belleville
Midwest LENGEL, ERIN E Lawrence
Missouri Valley Saez-Illobre, Blanca Indiana State
Mountain East Colby, Maddy Notre Dame-OH
Mountain West Humel, Colleen V San Jose State
MPSF Wong, Sydney San Diego
NEAC Meehan, Katherine A Cazenovia
NEISDA Walsh, Hope M Keene State
NESCAC Higgins, Andrea M Connecticut College
New South Winnett, Lexie Lindenwood
North Coast Tallen, Alison C DePauw
Northeast 10 McDermott, Madeline Saint Rose
Northwest Vagt, Molly C Whitworth
Pac 12 Butter, Dorien g Utah
PCSC Tovstogan, Olga Fresno Pacific
Presidents Douds, Megan L Westminster
PSAC de Perrot, Danielle J California (PA)
Rocky Mountain Wood, Mia T Colorado Mines
SCAC Chang, Jio Colorado College
SCIAC Ramirez, Mardell California Lutheran
SEC Dressel, Sherridon L Florida
Summit Laird, Courtney R Denver
Sunshine Deveny, Courtney A Nova Southeastern
SUNYAC Johnson, Natalie L SUNY-Cortland
WAC Haynes, JayssieLisa G CSU-Bakersfield
WIAC Shorten, Tessa M UW-Oshkosh
ACC Reményi, Ármin Pittsburgh
Allegheny Schaeffer, Matthew E Cabrini
America East Gliese, Alexander UMBC
American Gomez, Jonathan Southern Methodist


Selections: National | Women's Conference | Men's Conference

CollegeSwimming Men's Conference Swimmers-of-the-Week

Conference Swimmer Institition
Appalachian Vekony, Csaba Keiser
Big 12 Schooling, Joseph I Texas
Big East Krecsmar, Stephen Villanova
Big Ten Loy, Andrew Ohio State
Bluegrass Barreto, Joao Pedro M Catawba
Capital Brown, Joshua Salisbury
CCSA Smoak, Connor Florida Atlantic
Centennial Pac, Jose McDaniel
Colonial Savidge, Patrick J Delaware
CUNYAC Acevedo, Adam Lehman
Empire 8 Zhang, Aron Hartwick
GLIAC Walling, Benjamin Grand Valley
GLVC Zavaneli, Guilherme Indianapolis
Horizon Stoller, Jonathan D IUPUI
Independent Bolivard, Guillaume Indian River
Ivy Hyogo, Kei Yale
Liberal Arts Staver, Matthew Luther
Liberty McClure, Brendan F Union (NY)
MAAC Battisti, Evan A Manhattan
MIAA Nyboer, Alec Albion
Mid-American Lienhart, Banistre L Ball State
Middle Atlantic Bang, Eric Fairleigh Dickinson
Mid-South Le Pays Du Teilleul, Martin Lindenwood-Belleville
Midwest Charlow, Travis M Lawrence
Mountain East Knights, Seth W Notre Dame-OH
MPSF Aydin, Metin Hawaii
NEAC Stewart, Collin Cazenovia
NEISDA Hubbard, Antony K Keene State
NESCAC Wong, Eric Amherst
New South Lavoie, Cody K Delta State
NEWMAC Damiecki, Alex P Babson
North Coast Mcmanus, Samuel DePauw
Northeast 10 Jelavic, Roko Saint Rose
Northwest Rossmiller, Byron L Whitworth
Pac 12 MOREIRA, Rodolfo Utah
Patriot Piedt, Zachary E Navy
PCSC Averchenko, Aleksei Fresno Pacific
Presidents DunLany, Aaron Westminster
PSAC Stauffer, Corey E Indiana (PA)
Rocky Mountain Ohmar, Alexis W Cal Baptist
SCAC Wright, Michael Colorado College
SCIAC To, Samuel C Pomona-Pitzer
SEC Dressel, Caeleb R Florida
Skyline Monahan, Nolan Merchant Marine
Summit Sykes, Hugo J Denver
Sunshine Lupoli, Franco A Nova Southeastern
SUNYAC Mattera, Matthew SUNY-Geneseo
WAC Antipov, Daniil Grand Canyon
WIAC Lieder, Jarrett UW-Oshkosh