Chadwick Leads Men's Swimmers-of-the-Week

October 18,  2016 - Somers, WI - This week's National Collegiate Swimmers-of-the-Week have been selected from Louisville, Missouri, Drury, Florida Tech, New York University, Rose-Hulman and Cumberlands.  In addition to the eight National Selections, fifty one women's and forty four men's conference swimmers were selected.  

Men's Selections

Missouri senior Michael Chadwick was a bright spot for the Tigers in a 183-114 loss to #4 Alabama.  Chadwick captured the 50 and 100 freestyles.  Chadwick's 50 Free is the fastest in the country and 100 free ranks second behind last week's National Swimmer-of-the-Week Michael Jensen.

Florida Tech's Victor Furtado, a previous CollegeSwimming Conference Swimmer-of-the-Week honoree (February 1, 2016) earned his first national nod.  Furtado captured the 100 butterfly and 200 freestyle against Saint Leo. Furtado's time in the fly was faster than his 8th-place finish at last year's SSC Championships. 

Carl Bartine earned the nod among Division III men.  Bartine captued the 50 freestyle and 100 butterfly, and led off Rose-Hulman's winning 400 Freestyle Relay at the Indiana Division III Invitational.  It was the first National Selection for R-H since Orion Martin.  Joseph Sedacca was selected as NAIA Swimmer of the Week.  Sedacca led Cumberlands to a 195-75 win over Union with a sweep of the 50 and 100 freestyles.

In addition to National Swimmers-of-the-Week, CollegeSwimming selected forty-four conference swimmers of the week.  Those selections were highlighted by Penn State Olympian Shane Ryan.

Division I Michael Chadwick Missouri
Division II Victor Rocha Furtado Florida Tech
Division III Carl Bartine Rose-Hulman
NAIA Joseph Sedacca Cumberlands
Conference Swimmer Team
Atlantic 10 Matthew Lynch George Mason
American Athletic Will Kearsey Connecticut
ACC Norbert Szabo Virginia Tech
Big 12 Merwane ElMerini West Virginia
Big East Vadim Jacobson Seton Hall
Big Ten Shane Ryan Penn State
CAA Jack Saunderson Towson
CCSA Matheus Montarroyos NJIT
Ivy League Julian Mackrel Princeton
MAAC Daniel Knoll Marist
Mid-American Tosh Kawaguchi Eastern Michigan
Patriot League Evin Rude Army / West Point
SEC Peter Holoda Auburn
Summit Nathan Spencer South Dakota
WAC Jacob Wielinski North Dakota
Conference Swimmer Team
AMCC Brady Mattson Penn State-Behrend
Appalachian Joshua Harriott Keiser
Bluegrass Jacob Queen Lenoir-Rhyne
Capital Christian March Frostburg State
CCIW Tyler Sariscsany Rose-Hulman
GLIAC Janko Radmanovic Findlay
GLVC Samuel Heveroh Truman State
Independent Andrew Taflinger Anderson University
Liberal Arts Artur Schneider Franklin
Middle Atlantic Ricky Averill Misericordia
aMetropolitan Ivan Sangines Bridgeport
MIAA Cole Malhoit Alma
Mid-South Igor Dozortsev Cumberlands
NCAC Kurt Swieter DePauw
Northeast 10 Zack Vreeland Adelphi
NEISDA Ryan Boraski Keene State
NEWMAC Ross Johnston Wheaton (MA)
New South Matteo Fraschi Delta State
ODAC Carter Cole Hampden-Sydney
Ohio Guerby Ruuska Manchester
PCSC Steffen Buttner UT-Permian Basin
PSAC Victor Polyakov West Chester
RMAC Robert Griffith Cal Baptist
SAA Andrew Freibert Sewanee
SCAC Collin Vu Austin College
SCIAC Austin Lashley Occidental
Skyline Samuel Jaffe Purchase
Sunahine Martin Hammer Tampa
UAA Timothy Kou NYU