Mid-Major Swimmers Earn Major Honors

More than two dozen conference championship meets highlighted the second week of the championship season.  While most Division I conference championships will take place this week and next, two - the MAAC and America East - crowned champions.  That enabled a pair of Mid-Major programs to nab this week's CollegeSwimming Swimmers-of-the-Week.  

Rider's Zach Molloy and UMBC's Emily Escobedo earned the second national honors of their career.  Escobedo was named America East Most Outstanding Swimmer for the fourth-straight year.  The senior captured gold in six of her seven events.  Molloy was named the MAAC Most Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet for the second year in a row.  He shattered the conference record in the 100 free with a time of 43.47.

Queens (NC)'s Marius Kusch captured Division II honors for the second time in his four-meet college career.  Swept the butterfly events and IM at the Bluegrass Mountain Conference.  Drury's Bailee Nunn earned her fourth national honor after sweeping the 100 Fly, 100 Breast, 200 Breast and 200 IM at the GLVC Championships.

Division III honors went to Emory's Andrew Wilson and Williams' Emma Waddell.  Joel Ax (SCAD-Savannah) and Aerika Wieser (Urbana) were the NAIA selections.

Additionally, CollegeSwimming selected seventy-two Conference Swimmers-of-the-Week.  Highlighting the selections was Stanford's Katie Ledecky.  In a dual meet against California, Ledecky set three pool records. Selections are made from results submitted by Midnight EST each Monday.

Division Male Female
Division I Molloy, Zachary
Escobedo, Emily
Division II Kusch, Marius
Queens (NC)
Nunn, Bailee
Division III Wilson, Andrew
Waddell, Emma
NAIA Ax, Joel
Wieser, Aerika

Conference Awards

ACC Garkani, Christian Louisville
Big East Summers, Justin Georgetown
Big Ten Mortimer, Austin Ohio State
Horizon League MacDonald, Jack Cleveland State
MAAC Schulte, Benjamin Bryant
Mid-American Brock, Lucas Miami (OH)
SEC Dvorchak, Drew Missouri
AMCC Patterson, Mark Penn State-Behrend
Appalachian Patino, Juan St. Andrews
ASC SOBERS, Alex Emmanuel
Bluegrass Pijulet, Paul Queens (NC)
CCIW McCauley, William Wheaton (IL)
Empire Eight Bonnabeau, Nicholas Ithaca
GLIAC Budai, Lajos Northern Michigan
GLVC Glaser, Jonathan Missouri S&T
Independent VanderHelm, Adrian Simon Fraser
Liberal Arts Schneider, Artur Franklin
Middle Atlantic Green, Aaron Widener
NCAC Lindell, Jackson Denison
NEAC Tikhonoff, Jonathan Gallaudet
NWC Sun, Clark Whitman
ODAC Thetford, Thomas Washington & Lee
PacWest Thirkell, Aidan Victoria
PCSC Hernandez, Gabriel UC San Diego
Presidents Stahara, Mitchell Westminster
RMAC Bryant, Samuel Colorado Mesa
SAA Martin, Noah Centre
SCAC Hurrell-Zitelman, Russell Trinity U
UAA Wilson, Andrew Emory
ACC Long, Grace Anne Louisville
America East Baykova, Elizaveta New Hampshire
Big East Rutledge, Lauren Georgetown
Big Ten Cecil, Leeann Purdue
Horizon League Jimenez, Kimberly Cleveland State
MAAC Wurtz, Meredith Marist
Mid-American Neubauer, Macey Miami (OH)
Pac 12 Ledecky, Kathleen Stanford
SEC Jacolin, Aurore Missouri
AMCC Horn, Maryn Penn State-Behrend
Appalachian Goodrum, Claire Asbury
ASC Monges, Clara Emmanuel
Bluegrass Divelbiss, Alexis Wingate
CCIW Stanley, Meg Illinois Wesleyan
Empire Eight Berman, Josie Ithaca
GLIAC Van Noort, Leonie Grand Valley
GLVC Dahlgren, Erica Drury
Independent Gibson, Jessie Simon Fraser
Liberal Arts Solik, Regina Franklin
Middle Atlantic Wingert, Kaitlin Messiah
NCAC Kane, Carolyn Denison
NEAC Olock, Margaret Cedar Crest
NESCAC Waddell, Emma Williams
Northern Sun Kastigar, Hannah Northern State
NWC Hallstein, Tai Whitman
ODAC MacQueen, Alison Washington & Lee
PacWest Hampton, Allison Victoria
PCSC Fornshell, Laura Fresno Pacific
Presidents Dassow, Anne Grove City
RMAC Yarnell, Miranda Western State
SAA Hill, Allie Rhodes
SCAC Hagmann, Lindsay Trinity U
UAA Cheng, Cindy Emory