Site logo

SSC - Day 3

Florida Tech

Florida Tech junior Dar Raz garnered her second Sunshine State Conference Championships medal in the 100 yard backstroke, taking third with a time of 56.34 on Saturday at the Orlando YMCA Aquatic Center.
The performance brings the Panthers’ medal count up to four for the meet, one more than the program had accrued in its entire history previously. FIT also set five NCAA B Cut times on Saturday, making the total for the championships 23 provisional qualifying times.
The Panthers broke two school records during Day Three. Adi Davidov timed in at 1:49.81 in prelims to best his own top mark then came back with a 1:50.89 in the finals to garner sixth. Nathan Hufnagel was close behind Davidov, making the final touch in 1:52.00 for eighth.
Later on, Victor Rocha Furtado, Emanuele Rossi, Yagoh Kubagawa and Thomas Steenberg grabbed fifth in the 800 free relay, breaking the FIT record with a time of 6:39.02.
Brian Dumont claimed sixth in the 100 breaststroke, touching in 57.28. Freshman Drew Bastian was the fastest swimmer in the “B” final, setting a 57.49.
Joining Raz in the “A” final of the 100 back, Julie Coen earned seventh place with a time of 58.20. Paulina Bjorkbacka took ninth after finishing first in the “B” final in 58.12.
In the 500 yard freestyle, Rossi took seventh after completing the circuit in 4:36.02 after setting a 4:31.93 in the prelims. Ferruccio Rossi actually bested his younger brother’s finals time with a 4:34.19 in the “B” final, ultimately taking 10th.
Heading into the final day of the championships, the Panther men remain in fourth with 430 points. The women’s team jumped Rollins to garner the No. 6 spot with 194 points.

Nova Southeastern

Nova Southeastern University swimming came away with three more titles on the third day of the Sunshine State Conference Championship as both the men and the women hold steady in second place. Anton Lobanov and Thiago Sickert took home wins in the 100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard butterfly while the men's 800-yard freestyle relay team also claimed victory in the final event of the night.
Lobanov (So., Novosibirisk, Russia), who holds the SSC overall and championship meet records in the 100-breast, put up a NCAA Standard-A time of 52.65 in his win. Sickert (Jr., Vila Velha, Brazil) continued his record-breaking ways as he set a new championship meet record, which he had broken earlier in the day during prelims, in the 200-fly with a NCAA Standard-A time of 1:46.05.
To close out day three on a high note, the men's 800-free relay team got another win for the Sharks with a NCAA Standard B-time of 6:33.41. The team consisted of Marco Aldabe (Jr., Alicante, Spain), Blake Woodrow (So., Fort Myers, Fla.), Sickert and Victor Tarin (Jr., Godelleta, Spain).
The night began with the women's 500-yard freestyle in which Georgina Allin (Jr., Somerset, England) tied for second with Tampa's Makayla Ayers, coming in at 4:59.42. Madison Yelle (So., Mansfield, Texas) also competed in the final taking eighth place in 5:04.16. Both times meet the NCAA Standard-B cut.
Woodrow, who had taken first in the men's 500-free prelim in the morning, placed second in the final with a NCAA Standard-B time of 4:29.57. Tarin (Jr., Godelleta, Spain) followed in eighth place with a time of 4:37.26 (NCAA B).
The men's 100-yard backstroke featured Aldabe (Jr., Alicante, Spain) and David Van Der Colff (Fr, Gaborone, Botswana). The pair finished back-to-back in fourth and fifth place both with NCAA Standard-B times of 48.79 and 48.86, respectively.
Malin Westman (So., Harryda, Sweden) claimed second in the women's 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:02.67, narrowly missing a NCAA A-cut but earning a NCAA B-cut. In addition to Lobanov, Cory Klemm (Fr., Cape Coral, Fla.) and Cheyenne Rodriguez (Jr., North Bay Village, Fla.) swam in the men's 100-breast final taking seventh and eighth with times of 57.30 and 57.95.
The last individual race of the night was the 200-yard butterfly. Courtney DeVeny (So., Estero, Fla.) put up a NCAA Standard-B time of 2:06.02, which was good for second place. Caroline Oster (Fr., Lake Mary, Fla.) came in sixth with a time of 2:10.04. Stephen Klein (So., Albuquerque, N.M.) competed on the men's side and took seventh in 1:51.67 (NCAA B).
In the final event of day three, the women finished the 800-free relay in second place with a time of 7:32.80, which is good for a NCAA Standard-B cut. Emma Wahlstrom (Jr., Stockholm, Sweden) Westman, Brooke Munion (Jr., Bethlehem, Pa.) and Allin made up the squad.
The men and the women remain in second place behind Florida Southern with scores of 560.50 for the men and 564 for the women.


With three days of the 2016 Sunshine State Conference Men's and Women's Swimming Championships complete, both University of Tampa teams are in third place.

Entering the final day of competition, Florida Southern remains on top in the women's team standings with 666.5 points, distancing itself from second place Nova Southeastern, which has 564 points. Tampa (441.5), Lynn (340) and Saint Leo (315) claim spots three through five, respectively. Florida Tech (194) leapfrogged Rollins (172) for sixth place.

For the men, FSC remains in the lead with 594.5 points. Nova Southeastern is not far behind with 560.5 points, while Tampa sits in third with 495.5 points. Florida Tech holds on to the fourth position at 430 points, with Saint Leo directly behind in fifth with 355.5 points. Rollins claims the sixth and final spot, having accrued 146 points.

UT freshman Makayla Ayers started things off with a second-place finish in the 500 Free. She was timed at 4:59.42, finishing behind Florida Southern All-American Alli Crenshaw.

Classmate Victoria Horsman won the gold in the 200 Fly, as she finished in 2:04.42.

Both UT 800 Free Relay teams medaled, with the men finishing second and the women third.