Middle Atlantic Conference Championships Slated for This Weekend

The 2016 Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) Men’s and Women’s Swimming Championships are set for Thursday, Feb. 11 through Sunday, Feb. 14. For a third-straight year, the conference championships will be held at Graham Aquatic Center in York, Pa.

For directions to the site of competition, parking information and the location of surrounding hotels go to the championship central page.

Admission prices to the 2016 MAC Swimming Championships can also be found on the championship central page. Fans can purchase tickets at the gate. The ticket prices also includes a program and heat sheet.

Live coverage of the entire championships can be followed at the championship central page. Fans can watch live video coverage and/or live results of each session. Links will be available on the central page prior to the start of the event. Fans can also follow real time results on the Meet Mobile app, however, these results will be unofficial. Simply search “2016 MAC Championships” in the app.

A total of 24 squads from 12 institutions will be competing at the championships, including the men’s and women’s teams from Albright, Arcadia, Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham, Hood, King’s, Lebanon Valley, Lycoming, Misericordia, Messiah, Stevenson, Widener and Wilkes.

Albright has won the previous five men’s conference titles, and nine overall. Messiah has won the previous two women’s conference titles.

Widener’s sophomore Ian Gaynor enters the championship with the conference’s only two individual NCAA provisional (‘B’ Cut) qualifiers. Gaynor holds national provisional cuts in the 50-yard (20.41 seconds) and 100-yard (45.19 seconds) freestyle events.

Widener’s women’s 200-yard medley relay team also has an NCAA provisional time of 1:43.22.


Returning Individual Champions


Dani Blass (Misericordia, Sr.) – 2x 200-yard Breaststroke (2014, 2015); 400-yard IM (2015)

Lauren Fogarty (Hood, Sr.) – 400-yard IM (2014)

Jan Ikeda (Lebanon Valley), Sr.) – 2x 100-yard Butterfly (2012, 2014); 2x 200-yard Butterfly (2012, 2014)

Tara Freeman (Messiah, Jr.) – 2x 50-yard Freestyle (2014, 2015)

Emily Reale (Messiah, Jr.) – 2x 1,650-yard Freestyle (2014, 2015)

Katie Wingert (Messiah, So.) – 200-yard Freestyle (2015); 200-yard IM (2015)



Ian Gaynor (Widener, Jr.) – 50-yard Freestyle (2015); 2x 100-yard Freestyle (2014, 2015); 2x 200-yard Freestyle (2014, 2015)

BJ Daisey (Hood, Jr.) – 100-yard Breaststroke (2014)

Timothy Graham (Arcadia, Sr.) – 200-yard Butterfly (2014); 200-yard IM (2015)

Joe Grzech (Misericordia, So.) – 200-yard Backstroke (2015)

Eric Lam (Arcadia, Jr.) – 400-yard IM (2014)

Ken Richardson (Albright, Jr.) – 100-yard Breaststroke (2015)

Dakota Schmalz (Messiah), So.) – 200-yard Butterfly (2015); 400-yard IM (2015)

Thomas Scott (Misericordia, Jr.) – 2x 200-yard Breaststroke (2014, 2015); 200-yard IM (2014)


Former MAC member Johns Hopkins holds the most combined men’s and women’s titles with 21. The Johns Hopkins men’s program won a total of 18, including 17-straight from 1971-87. Albright and former MAC member Gettysburg have the second most combined titles with 19 titles each. Gettysburg has 14 women’s and five men’s titles. Albright has 10 women’s and nine men’s titles. Widener comes in fourth with 14 combined titles, having 12 men’s and two women’s titles.