UMass Men Picked to Win Atlantic 10

Massachusetts has been selected to win its fourth consecutive Atlantic 10 men’s swimming & diving title in voting conducted by the league’s head coaches. 
The Minutemen captured their 11th crown in program annals last year as it outdistanced runner-up St. Bonaventure, 720.5-540.0.  UMass will be anchored by senior co-captain Justin Brooks, who seeks his fourth gold medal in the 1,650-yard freestyle. 
Led by three-time 200-yard breaststroke champion Mariusz Michalik, St. Bonaventure is picked second.  The Bonnies have finished second in each of the last three years after capturing the 2006 A-10 Championship. 
Duquesne is picked third, followed by Xavier, Fordham, La Salle, George Washington and Saint Louis.        
The 2010 Atlantic 10 Swimming & Diving Championships will be held Feb. 17-20 at the Flickinger Aquatics Center in Buffalo, N.Y.   
2010 Men’s Swimming & Diving Predicted Order Of Finish
(2009 Championship results in parentheses)
1. Massachusetts (1st)
2. St. Bonaventure (2nd)
3. Duquesne (3rd)
4. Xavier (5th)
5. Fordham (4th)
6. La Salle (7th)
7. George Washington (8th)
8. Saint Louis (6th)