SCAC Wrap-Up

The Trinity University Tigers women won their sixth consecutive Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Swimming and Diving Championship Saturday.  The Tigers won the meet with 865 points, outdistancing runner-up Centre College, with 789. Trinity has captured nine team titles overall.  DePauw's men totaled 916 points and captured its fifth straight SCAC championship and seventh in its 11 years of competition. Trinity was second with 769 points and Centre was third with 708. Official championships website

DePauw's John Cook was named the SCAC Male Swimmer of the Meet after taking home wins in the 50, 100 and 200 free events and notching NCAA automatic standards in each. The honor was the fourth for a DePauw swimmer in the last five years.

Charlie Boehme took first in the 200-yard backstroke in 1:54.94 which broke the DePauw record. Alex Troxel also earned all-SCAC honors with a third-place showing in 1:55.81.

Cook won the 100 freestyle in an NCAA automatic time of 44.88 seconds which was just .11 seconds off his own school record. It also set a new meet record. Steve Klabak placed third in an NCAA provisional time of 46.32 seconds after swimming 46.07 in the prelims.

Josh Baugh finished third in the 200 breaststroke in 2:09.56 which was also his prelim time. Brogan Runion captured all-SCAC accolades with a third-place finish in the 200 butterfly in 1:55.32 after swimming a 1:54.08 in the prelims. Adam Wishart finished second on the one-meter diving board with 403.8 points.

The Tigers' 400 free relay of Baugh, John Montgomery, Klabak and Cook finished the meet with a win in a provisional time of 3:03.06.

Sophomore Haley Emerick of Portland, Texas (Gregory-Portland), was named SCAC Female Diver of the Meet for the second straight year. Emerick set SCAC records in winning the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events.

The Tracy Caulkins Competition Pool at the Centennial Sportsplex was the site of the championship event. NCAA Division III selections will be made in early March..

Women's Staff of the Year - Southwestern University
Men's Staff of the Year - Centre College
Female Swimmer of the Meet - Meredith Angel, Centre
Male Swimmer of the Meet - John Cook, DePauw
Female Diver of the Meet - Hayley Emerick, Trinity
Male Diver of the Meet - Hunter Hayes, Centre
Women's Team Champion - Trinity University
Men's Team Champion - DePauw University