North Dakota Sweep North Central

North Dakota captured both the men's and women's NCC Swimming & Diving Championships that concluded today. On the women's side, North Dakota outdistanced Nebraska-Omaha 966 to 671 while the UND men had a 1156 to 654.5 advantage over second-place St. Cloud State. The meet began on Wednesday and was comprised of a morning and evening session each day at the Hyslop Sports Center Pool.

Rodrigo Ferreira of North Dakota set a new mark in the 200 backstroke with a 1:47.99 time, bettering his own record set last year. The North Dakota women's 400 freestyle relay team of Natalia Busso, Carissa Gormally, Cathryn DeShaw and Madonna Dorsher ended the night with a new NCC record with a time of 3:28.82. Not be outdone the UND men's team of Rodrigo Ferriera, Pedro Pereira, Daniel Moraes, Eric Knight did the same in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:01.37.


Tournament Recognition Men
Outstanding Swimmer Rodrigo Ferreira, North Dakota
Outstanding Diver Nate Jimmerson, St. Cloud State
Newcomer of the Year Daniel Moraes, North Dakota
Freshman of the Year Chase Fillingham, North Dakota
Swimming Coach of the Year Mavi Sampaio, North Dakota
Diving Coach of the Year Nate Brisley, St. Cloud State

Outstanding Swimmer Natalia Busso, North Dakota
Outstanding Diver Jill Smolcyzk, South Dakota
Newcomer of the Year Amy Roness, Minn. St. Moorhead
Freshmen of the Year Cathryn DeShaw, North Dakota
Swimming Coach of Year Mavi Sampaio, North Dakota and Jason Mahwohld, South Dakota
Diving Coach of the Year Chris Hansmann, South Dakota